Search

Faculty-based Units

Faculty-based Units

The most widely-used and successful ADP strategy for fostering access and success is the Extended Curriculum model, in which substantial foundational provision is articulated with the mainstream curriculum, resulting in a lengthened degree programme that allows students who are under-prepared for studying at the university to develop firm academic foundations. ADP programmes have played a key role in enabling the growth of black student enrolment and graduation at UCT, and have achieved some highly encouraging successes. In recent years, for example, the majority of black (African) graduates in Science and Engineering have followed the route of attending ADP programmes and courses. There are now an ADP unit in each of the University’s faculties. More information on these units can be found from the key contacts below or from the unit websites.

Key contacts for Faculty-based units

Commerce Education Development Unit
Level 2, Robert Leslie Commerce Building
Upper Campus, University of Cape Town
Website: www.educommerce.uct.ac.za

Director: A/Prof June Pym
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3866
Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4369
E-mail: june.pym@uct.ac.za

Adminstrative officer:
Shanaaz Solomons
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3720
E-mail: shanaaz.solomons@uct.ac.za

Administrative officer:
Sibonisiwe Zimu
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3912
E-mail: sibonisiwe.zimu@uct.ac.za
Fax: +27 (0)21 650 4369

Academic Support Programme for Engineering in Cape Town (ASPECT)
Room 319.1 Electrical and Mechanical Engineering Building
Upper Campus, University of Cape Town
Webpage: http://www.ebe.uct.ac.za/ebe/study/aspect

Coordinator:
Dr Howard Pearce
Tel: +27 (0)21 6503241
Fax: +27 (0)21 650 3241
E-mail: howard.pearce@uct.ac.za

Administrative assistant:
Linda Nkomo
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3238
E-mail: linda.nkomo@uct.ac.za
Fax: +27 (0)21 685 1206

Health Sciences Education Development Unit
Room 2.10 Anatomy Building
Health Sciences Campus. University of Cape Town
Website: http://www.healthedu.uct.ac.za

Director:
Dr Nadia Hartman
Tel: +27 (0)21 406 6630
Fax: +27 (0)21 447 8955
E-mail: nadia.hartman@uct.ac.za

Administrative officer:
Nondumiso Mginywa
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 6646
Fax: +27 (0)21 650 6244

Law ADP
A/Prof Lesley Greenbaum
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3448
Fax: +27 (0)21 650 5770
E-mail: lesley.greenbaum@uct.ac.za


Science ADP
Coordinator:
A/P Saalih Allie
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 3337
Fax: +27 (0)21 650 3342/52
E-mail: saalih.allie@uct.ac.za

Administrative Assistant
Nomphelo Lungisa (from 12:30 to 16h00)
Contactable by email only: nomphelo.lungisa@uct.ac.za

Humanities Education Development Unit
Room 3.01.6, Leslie Social Sciences Building
Upper Campus, University of Cape Town
http://www.humedu.uct.ac.za/

Director:
A/Prof Kathy Luckett
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 4878
E-mail: kathy.luckett@uct.ac.za / director.humedu@uct.ac.za

Administrative Assistant:
Mariam Suliman (Mimi)
Tel: +27 (0)21 650 5783
E-mail: humedu@uct.ac.za